Meet The Very First Transgender Bride On “Say Yes To The Dress”

“I’m marrying my king, and we will start our family together. That is my activism.”

This is Precious Davis with her fiancé Myles Brady. They’re getting married in Chicago this summer and both of them are transgender.

https://instagram.com/p/6buDxKjSTA/embed/

Davis told BuzzFeed News: “Myles and I have shown that two trans people can love each other and that we are worthy of love.”

Instagram: @misspreciousdavis

Davis said that when Brady expressed interest in her, it took time for her to be able to see herself in a relationship with a trans man.

https://instagram.com/p/4XWAzJDSQT/embed/

According to Davis: “Once I released myself from all the confines of everything I’ve ever been taught about gender and gender roles, I was able to really able to step into that place where I can find love.”

Instagram: @misspreciousdavis

To make her wedding even more special, Davis will appear this Friday on TLC’s Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta as the show’s first transgender bride.

To make her wedding even more special, Davis will appear this Friday on TLC's Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta as the show's first transgender bride.

Davis didn’t feel acceptance from her own family as a gender-nonconforming child. She told BuzzFeed News: “Growing up I had a lot of pain and there was no stability.” She sees her wedding as her opportunity to create a family on her own terms.

“That dysfunction in my family and all of that pain, I stand on top of that and say no. I’ve conquered. I’ve come to this place. Myles and I, we are royalty, and we claim that.” Davis believes that all survivors are royalty because of their resilience.

TLC

Because her wedding is one of a kind, Davis has highly specific ideas about the type of dress she wants.

Because her wedding is one of a kind, Davis has highly specific ideas about the type of dress she wants.

“A wedding in a woman’s life is a huge moment. It’s almost healing for me that I will be honored as noble, I’m marrying my king, and we will start our family together. That is my activism,” Davis said.

TLC


View Entire List ›

Leave a comment